Thursday, August 06, 2009

Sotomayor Confirmed

Senator Al Franken presided over the Senate chamber as Judge Sonya Sotomayor was confirmed as the newest Justice on the United States Supreme Court in a 68 to 31 vote.

Only nine Republican Senators -- Alexander (R-TN), Bond (R-MO), Collins (R-ME), Graham (R-SC), Gregg (R-NH), Lugar (R-IN), Martinez (R-FL), Snowe (R-ME), Voinovich (R-OH) -- joined the the two Independents -- Sanders (I-VT), Lieberman (ID-CT) -- to vote with the Democrats for the confirmation.


LA Times: Senate confirms Sonia Sotomayor for Supreme Court

Labels: , ,

All rights reserved.
Disclaimer And Comment Policy