Tuesday, May 02, 2006

Out of Iraq -- Into Darfur, Part 3


New deadline for Darfur agreement
2 May 2006, 23:28 GMT 00:28 UK

The deadline has again been extended for rebel and Sudanese government negotiators, meeting in Nigeria, to sign a deal ending the Darfur conflict.

On Sunday, an earlier deadline was extended until Tuesday, in a bid to make reluctant rebels ink the deal.

A new deadline of 48 hours has now been set. It expires on Thursday night.


Related article:

Horror continues in Sudan's Darfur
1 May 2006, 15:00 GMT 16:00 UK

Take a ride through southern Darfur and you will find plenty of evidence of the horrors unfolding in Sudan's war-torn region. [...]

More than 2m people have been displaced since the conflict began in 2003, when mostly non-Arab rebels took up arms against the government in Khartoum, accusing it of discrimination and neglect. [...]

Two years after the international community woke up to the crisis in Darfur, the reality is that villages are still being torched and civilians are still being forced to flee.

It is not known how many have been killed since the conflict began, but some estimates put the number at 300,000. [...]

Baba Gana Kingibe, head of the AU mission, told the BBC the international community should have done a lot more for Darfur.

"The international community should be filled with a sense of deep regret and remorse," he says.

"Especially Darfur coming after Rwanda, when there was a lot of hand wringing all over the place and finger pointing." [...]

All rights reserved.
Disclaimer And Comment Policy